Daily Cosmobite: Pleiades

The Pleiades or also known as the Seven Sisters is an open cluster system consisting of approximately 3000 stars. Pleiades has 9 bright stars, 7 named for the daughters and 2 for the parents in Greek Mythology. Interesting fact Pleiades means “Subaru” in Japanese, so next time you see a Subaru commercial look at it’s logo.  The Pleiades are prominent in the night sky and have many stories associated with them, including those told by Aboriginal Peoples.

This Daily Cosmobite was written by Paul Clemens. Paul is an astronomy guide at Sydney Observatory and he is a guide for the Powerhouse Museum’s Mars Lab.

A color-composite image of the Pleiades
A color-composite image of the Pleiades from the Digitized Sky Survey
Credit: NASA/ESA/AURA/Caltech

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.