Media Hub

Powerhouse Showcases Outstanding HSC Student Projects

February 15, 2023

Image: Daniya Syed, MediBot – Personal Healthcare Assistant, 2022. Credit: Marinco Kojdanovski.


SHAPE 2022 presents exemplary projects from the 2022 High School Certificate Design and Technology, Industrial Technology and Textiles and Design courses, showcasing ingenious solutions developed by young, future-oriented design thinkers.

Opening 4 March 2023 at Powerhouse Ultimo, the annual exhibition this year includes ergonomic flute keys for arthritis, surf safety headgear and a personal healthcare robot assistant.

NSW Education Standards Authority CEO Paul Martin said the work from the 2022 HSC graduates reflects the high level of critical thinking and creativity enabled by NSW schools.

‘The work of students selected for SHAPE never cease to amaze me. I encourage schools, families and the public to visit Powerhouse and see for themselves the creativity, innovation and talents of these young people.

‘Their work is a testament to their skilled teachers, a robust Technologies curriculum, and the inventiveness of HSC students. The pieces selected give us an insight into what students care about, what excites them and what they want for their world and future generations.

‘Congratulations on your inclusion in this impressive HSC Showcase,’ Mr Martin said.

‘Our continuing collaboration with the NSW Education Standards Authority reflects Powerhouse’s commitment to supporting designers at the very earliest stages of their careers. SHAPE 2022 is an opportunity to witness how the next generation of designers respond to the challenges of our world,’ said Powerhouse Chief Executive Lisa Havilah.

SHAPE 2022 is presented in association with the NSW Education Standards Authority.

– ENDS –



Cara Lopez | Powerhouse | 0438 147 097

About Powerhouse

Powerhouse sits at the intersection of arts, design, science and technology and plays a critical role in engaging communities with contemporary ideas and issues. We are undertaking a landmark $1.4 billion infrastructure renewal program, spearheaded by the creation of the flagship museum, Powerhouse Parramatta; expanded research and public facilities at Powerhouse Castle Hill; the renewal of the iconic Powerhouse in Ultimo; and the ongoing operation of Sydney Observatory. The museum is custodian to over half a million objects of national and international significance and is considered one of the finest and most diverse collections in Australia. We are also undertaking an expansive digitisation project that will provide new levels of access to Powerhouse collections.

About NSW Education Standards Authority

The NSW Education Standards Authority is an independent statutory authority reporting to an independent Board and the NSW Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning. Making sure all children and young people in NSW leave school ready to take advantage of life’s opportunities, as well as to rise to its inevitable challenges, is at the heart of what we do. We achieve this by supporting the school sectors to deliver the best possible outcomes for students through high-quality syllabuses, assessment, teaching standards and school environments.

SHAPE 2022

Design and Technology
Sarah Athar – Cheltenham Girls High School
John Conomos – Barker College
Emily Grimes – Stella Maris College
Luke Hall-Matthews – Parkes Christian School
Oliver Harrison – Killara High School
Cleo Jeffery – Monte Sant’Angelo Mercy College
Jackson Kempshall – St John’s College
Eliza Poppy Laithwaite – Abbotsleigh
Ashkia Ramsay Robert – Mosman High School
James Scott Brown – Cranbrook School
Daniya Syed – Unity Grammar College
Madeline Windeyer – Wenona School

Industrial Technology
William Burden – St Johns College
Mattia Candotti – St Leo’s Catholic College
Andrew Chung – Epping Boys High School
Kiera Ditchfield – James Sheahan Catholic High School
Charlie Gill – Shearwater, the Mullumbimby Steiner School
Max Goldsmith – Warners Bay High School
Megan Hazelwood – Pittwater High School
Charlie Khamis – Parramatta Marist High School
Lilli McAlister – Corpus Christi Catholic High School
Kota Okuda – Killarney Heights High School
Jessica Parker – Murrumbidgee Regional High School
Alyssa Parrottino – Bethany College
Indy Rose – Barrenjoey High School
Jack Stearn – Tempe High School 

Textiles and Design
Eliana Bootes – Green Point Christian College
Tate Boswarva – SCECGS Redlands
Skye Kelton – Wenona School
Jasmine Rose Langdon – Ulladulla High School
Riley MacPherson – Glenaeon Rudolf Steiner School
Tran Bao Ngoc Nguyen – Canley Vale High School
Liesel Price – Wollongong High School of the Performing Arts
Ruby Scott – Bishop Druitt College
Amelia Semovski – La Salle Catholic College
India Turbill – Springwood High School
Dakota Wright – Terrigal High School